The old fee and permit that were required to hunt with a suppressor in Maine have officially been abolished. This new law, L.D. 635, was first introduced by Senator Trey Stewart March 1st after a unanimous passing vote out of both houses of legislature. It was then signed by Governor Janet Mills on Tuesday, June 8th. L.D. 635 effectively repealed the $12 fee to obtain a permit from the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife (IFW) to use legally-obtained suppressors for hunting purposes.
It has been legal for suppressors to be used for hunting in Maine since 2015, but not without the additional hoops to jump through for the state. The mandatory suppressor permits proved to be of no use. The initial thought was that suppressors would be used for illegal hunting or other criminal use. Legislators found that not one single person was denied a suppressor hunting permit from IFW while this law was enacted.
The new law will take effect 90 days after the end of this current legislative session. Therefore, Maine hunters with lawfully owned suppressors can expect to use their suppressors without needing a permit starting Tuesday, September 14th, just in time for 2021’s hunting season.
Maine is now one of 40 states in the U.S. that allows hunters to freely use lawfully owned suppressors.
Now more than ever, it’s important to protect and support your suppressor rights and Second Amendment freedoms. It’s also essential to help educate the public and legislators about the safety benefits and usefulness of silencers. Joining and supporting causes like the American Suppressor Association (ASA) help defend and protect your rights and liberties at the heart of the matter.